Share this story


St. Bernard Prep School celebrates athletes at awards ceremony

St. Bernard Prep School proudly recognized the exceptional achievements of its student athletes at the school’s 2023-24 Fall and Winter Athletic Awards Ceremony, held on March 6 at the esteemed Fazi-Richard Athletic Center. The event celebrated the dedication, perseverance, and remarkable accomplishments of nine sports teams spanning bowling, volleyball, cheer, basketball, and cross country.

Under the guidance of Coach Elicia Fallin, awards for bowling and volleyball were presented, showcasing the remarkable talent and commitment displayed throughout the season. On the boys’ team, Charlie Deist and Heitor Joly were recognized as team captains and Cameron Smiley was acknowledged for having the highest individual score. On the girls’ team, the team captains were Audrey Gil and Abigail McBride, and the highest individual scorer was Sarah Woods.

The junior varsity volleyball team acknowledged Ella Cron as the best server and presented Charlee Boykin with the Hustle Award. Caroline McBride was named most influential player and team captain.

For the varsity volleyball team, Caroline Sidney was recognized as the manager, and Sarah Woods was presented with the Best Under Pressure Award. Elle Tillitski was given the Highest Serve Percentage Award, and Ella David received the Hustle Award. The Senior Award went to Team Captain Amelia Tafazoli. The most outstanding performance went to Abigale McBride. Lastly, Emily Garcia received the Senior Award, was named captain, and was given the Most Outstanding Performance Award.

Notably, Emily Garcia and Abigail McBride received All-Area recognition from the AHSAA coaches for their outstanding contributions to the team.

The cheerleaders, under the guidance of sponsor Abigail Bennett, were commended for their unwavering dedication and spirited performances throughout the season.

Middle school girls’ basketball saw Avy Hines recognized as the most improved player, while Tessa Sanders was celebrated as the most valuable player.

On the varsity girls’ basketball team, the Senior Award went to Amelia Tafazoli, the most improved player was Caroline McBride, and the most valuable player was Ella Davis. Furthermore, Ella Davis and Amelia Tafazoli were selected for the AHSAA All-Area 1A 13 team by the AHSAA coaches.

Middle school boys’ basketball awards included recognition for Team Captains Aiden Hays and Cameron Smiley, alongside the Hustle Award recipient, James Gray.

Varsity boys’ basketball awards honored seniors Charles Deist, Will Lyons, and Emmanuel Santiago, with Emmanuel Santiago and Will Lyons recognized as team captains. Both Will Lyons and Emmanuel Santiago were named to the AHSAA All-Area 1A 13 team.

In cross country, senior athletes Cesar Hernandez and Ethan Wu were celebrated for their outstanding contributions. Additionally, Cash Daly and Parker Guthery received accolades for their exceptional performances, with Madi Kerber shining as the most valuable girls runner.

St. Bernard Prep School extends its heartfelt congratulations to all award recipients and athletes for their dedication and achievements. The ceremony concluded with refreshments.