Share this story


Local school’s class officers announced

The eighth-grade class officers for 2023-2024 have been elected by their classmates at Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic School. The officers were chosen after a week-long campaign. The students running for office gave speeches followed by the casting of votes. 

Sawyer Holmes was elected president, with Makena Njani and William Camp as secretary and Stella Juarez as treasurer. Mimi McGovern will be the chaplain and Adrian Rivera will represent 8P homeroom, while Laura Catherine Sparks will represent 8S homeroom.

The elected students have various school-wide responsibilities and activities including bringing new and creative ideas to school leaders, helping with Catholic Schools Week, leading school prayer at special events, and other class leadership opportunities throughout the year. “I look forward to working with the officers and the eighth-grade class in implementing some fresh ideas for this school year,” remarked Principal Mary Jane Dorn. “I am confident these students will continue to set a good example for all of our younger students.”

Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic School fosters the religious, academic, and social development of every child, recognizing that knowledge enlightened by faith and realized through service is at the heart of Catholic education. Accredited by Cognia, the school provides a curriculum that combines Catholic faith and teachings with academic excellence. The school offers a partnership with parents in the religious formation of their children through a family friendly environment to prepare students to be productive citizens and future leaders. To learn more about Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic School, visit